Government College of Engineering, Kalahandi
ସରକାରୀ ଯାନ୍ତ୍ରିକ ମହାବିଦ୍ୟାଳୟ, କଳାହାଣ୍ଡି

Anti Ragging Measures


Ragging inside or outside the hostel or campus is banned by the Government of India. Anybody found indulged in ragging in any form will be summarly expelled from the institute.

What Constitutes Ragging

Ragging constitutes one or more of any of the following acts.

  • Any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student
  • Indulging in rowdy or indisciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annopyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student
  • Asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student
  • Any act by a senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher
  • Exploiting the services of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students
  • Any act of financial extortion or foreeful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students
  • Any act of physical abuse including all variants of it, sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, foring obscene and lewd acts, gestures causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person
  • Any act or abuse by spoken words, emails, post, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from actively or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student
  • Any act that affects the mental health and self-confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student

Action In The Event Of Ragging

The institution shall punish a student to those found guilty, one or more of the following punishments, namely:

  • Suspension from attending classes and academic privileges
  • Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits
  • Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process
  • Withholding results
  • Debarring from representing the institution in any regional, national or international meet, tournament, youth festival etc.
  • Suspension/expulsion from the hostel
  • Cancellation of admission
  • Rustication from the institution for period ranging from one to four semesters
  • Expulsion from the institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution for a specified period

Provided that where the persons committing or abetting the act of ragging are not identified, The institution shall resort to collective punishment.


As per guideline of All India Council for Technical Education, Hon’ble Supreme Court, Government of India and Government of Odisha the following committees are constituted to prevent ragging in any form inside or outside the Institute campus.

Ragging Prevention Committee

Sl No. Name Mobile No.
1. Dr. B.B. Panda 9861419350
2. Dr. L.P. Panda 9437665239
3. P.K. Routray 9437260943
4. D.R. Nayak 9861239074
5. P. Sanghamitra  88959766


Sl No. Name Mobile No.
1. B.K. Swain


2. Bikash Meher 9439368825
3. S.K. Tripathy 8093787991

Special Squard for Ladies Hostel

Sl No. Name Mobile No.
1. Sasmita Sahoo 9439921617
2. Subedita Patnaik 8895302434